|Lessons in the Snow|

Growing up in South Carolina, snow days rarely actually have any snow. The past 48 hours have been filled with rest, snow, and just when i thought the snow was ending… more snow. I can’t remember ever seeing this much snow. I was quite unprepared with only a rain jacket, non waterproof boots (added grocery bags inside to help a little), a camo hat, and cookie sheets to use as sleds… but it was all worth it! 

As we trekked miles to find the perfect hill, I kept finding myself looking to the ground trying not to stumble over the boulders of ice (exaggeration? perhaps). When I would take the time to trust a much unworthy path of ice, the view was stunning. It was such a sweet reminder of how I can become so ground-ward focus in life. Focusing on the hard things or frustrating situations, while at the same time missing out on everything else God is doing that is beautiful around me. Sometimes its hard to trust Him through the circumstances but I know He is faithful and He sustains. It is hard to trust when I confuse trusting Him and trusting my own strength to make it through whatever situation is tough. He has proven time and time again that in trusting Him, I find rest.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

IMG_4443

snowday1snow2

IMG_4444

IMG_4450

What a full 2 days. Thankful for each person I got to share it with. 

signature

Leave a Reply

