| Restless Heart |

Living in a house with 6 girls + working in an office of vibrant and lively females (keeping in line a bunch of rowdy men) + spending almost every free moment with a best friend you rarely absolutely never get tired of = days and months (sometimes years) of never really being alone.

Last week I was blessed to go on a staff retreat with honestly the best staff team a girl could ask for. I didn’t have many expectations for the few days nor had I put much thought into what could come from a retreat. To be honest- sitting still, alone, or quiet scares me. When I was little my dad would taking me hunting or fishing and would end up never taking me back because I was terrible at doing all three of those things- being still, quiet, & alone- the epitome of those activities. Needless to say this has been a struggle my whole life, but only recently has the Lord shown me how it is effecting my relationship with Him and growing myself.

I have been told several times “you do so much fun stuff” or “how do you find all these free things to do?”. My unspoken answer… fear-driven googling. Fear of what I might learn about myself. Fear that I will lose control. Fear that when I sit and rest, I will be asked to do something by God that I might be hesitant to say yes. If I am busy then I don’t have to say yes, right? (hmmm not sure if He works like that).

It is easier to be busy and preoccupied than it is to be still and rest. I am realizing the effects of my restlessness though. When challenged last week at retreat to take time to ourselves, I couldn’t remember the last time I did that.

On the way from Asheville to Easley I decided why wait to plan a personal retreat at a later date, why not just take one during my road trip home. I knew I needed to be in Easley at a certain time to see my momma (we don’t mess with those plans) but I figured I had a few hours to spare. In attempts to find an escape, I just figured getting lost in a mountain town I would land upon a hidden getaway. Oh boy did I ever.

pathway to the getaway- Jump Off Rock in Hendersonville, NC

pathway to the getaway- Jump Off Rock in Hendersonville, NC

worth the drive and walk out to reach this point

worth the drive and walk out to reach this point

Resting spot for the day

Resting spot for the day

Reflected on this scripture...needed truth

Reflected on this scripture…needed truth

Because I know I will fill my time with pointless busy work, I am excited to block out (not schedule or plan) time each month to pull away from all forms of social life & media. Looking forward to what God wants to impress on my heart during this time, and might just share a little of that here. 🙂

“My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from Him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.” -Psalm 62:1-2

signature

Leave a Reply

