20.12- A Year in Review

As I look back and see that I have not written here since October, I get overwhelmed with all that I want to say and talk about. It has taken me some time to reflect on 2012 (a month and 11 days into 2013 to be exact) but I look back with great joy and appreciation for all my loving and gracious God did in and through me last year. I look to 2013 with great expectation and hope for what is to come.

Before I can think about all that 2013 can hold, time to remember and learn from 2012.

Highlights for me to remember:

Passion 2012 with 4 of my favorite high school seniors. God truly rocked my thinking as I got to see the girls that I love so much leaving for college on fire for Christ 

Passion 2012

Passion 2012

2 of my best friends got engaged to their best friends and married in the Fall. It was a full year of seeing my sweet friends Kendall & John and Kaylee & Ben tie the knot!

Kaylee & Ben on their sweet wedding day!

Kaylee & Ben on their sweet wedding day!

kennjohn

Kendall & John (aka Ken & Johnny) on their joyful wedding day

Lead four 8th grade girls in a bible study. I was excited every Tuesday to spend time with them and then loved extra time having sleepovers, going to the beach, concerts, etc.

Many nights of randomness

Many nights of randomness

This picture might seem random to most people, but to me it shows each of these girls personalities perfectly!

This picture might seem random to most people, but to me it shows each of these girls personalities perfectly!

Lived life with some of the coolest high school girls I know from Bachelor Mondays (“secret bible study”) to concerts, games, and more… these girls are truly friends of mine, even though I got paid to hang out with them haha (Abbie).

The Crew

The Crew

Summer 2012- probably my favorite summer in Charleston! From free concerts at the Pier to 4th of July, I rejoice in knowing not a moment or memory was wasted that summer. Amazing what you take advantage of when you know you are leaving.

MerriCameron's fake birthd

4th of July

524026_636150558382_440261014_n

MerriCameron’s fake birthday

Made the decision to move to Durham, NC <— best/hardest decision ever! Charleston was a tough place to leave but Durham has added so many new friends and memories that have enriched my life more than I could imagined.

Blessed by the Purple House

Blessed by the Purple House

First Thanksgiving at Morning Glory- the new family farmhouse named after a song my Granddaddy use to sing. Thankful for my family and memories made this year!

Morning Glory

Morning Glory

Color Ran with my best friends- weekends like this are so needed!

Far apart but they know me best = best friends

Far apart but they know me best = best friends

Where running is fun, if that is possible!

Where running is fun, if that is possible!

Far apart but they know me best= best friends

Worth IT

Lessons Learned:

  • Be intentional- with everyone and every situation 
  • Live in the moment- it is so easy to look at what is next, but live in the now
  • Choose Joy- in every situation, good or bad, choose joy and to see how God is working

There were so many other sweet memories in 2012 but these are the ones I look back on and I am so incredibly thankful for. What a year. I am already enjoying 2013 and can’t wait to see what God does this year to stretch and grow me but I also can’t wait to see what He does to just put a smile on my face. This walk with Christ isn’t always easy, but it surely is sweetness to my soul.

signature

One thought on “20.12- A Year in Review

Leave a Reply

