Calm After the Storm

Last night I had a girls event planned to go to the Party at the Park, a free concert put on at the Mt Pleasant Pier. I was so excited to spend the time with 40+ middle school girls and enjoy an event that I didn’t have to run myself. Makes a huge difference to just be able to hang out and not be the one running things. Yesterday morning the weather for the day was not looking good. With storms stirring off the coast, I figure the inevitable cancel of the event would need to happen. An hour before the event the sky was a murky grey. An end to the rain was nowhere in sight. I looked at the radar and just trusted that the event was supposed to happen. I decided not to cancel and committed to sticking it out in the rain with a poncho or trash bag. 

I thought about so many times in my life, when I seem in the middle of the storm, I am so ready to throw in the towel.  I started asking God to give me the strength to persevere even when I don’t see an end to the storm. When I think that it couldn’t get better, I would just be stuck in this wet, cold mess, I am praying that He reminds me of His promises. When He tells me to go, He isn’t saying go until it gets hard or uncomfortable and then turn around. He is telling me to go and trust Him no matter what comes my way. He has promised that He has gone before me and promises never to leave my side. 

Sometimes, just sometimes, the ending is a sweet surprise. Like last night- the sunset was unimaginable. The coolness in the air and lack of bugs and humidity made it even better. The time with the girls was sweet and needed. The calm of the storm arrived. As I walk this journey through life with Christ, praying I remember even when the storm comes, the anchor holds. 

39 “He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. 40 He said to His disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” 41 They were terrified and asked each other ,Who is this? Even the wind and waves obey Him.” – Mark 4:39-41

 

 

Leave a Reply

