{Farewell to the Faithful}

This week marked the final T4:12 of the year. As I say goodbye to the precious HS seniors, it marks a new chapter for us all. I am so excited as these girls go off to start college but also equally as sad that I will not see them every Wednesday night. Over the past year my heart has grown because of these girls. The Lord has used them in my life in more ways than they could possibly know. Although I have many more events with these girls before they move to their next stage, there will never be another Wednesday night activity with them. I am a person who thrives but also cries in change. I know change is good for us all but this next chapter will look so different for them.

These high school girls are anything but the typical “high school” girls. I have told them time after time that they are way cooler than I ever was my senior year of high school. Not only are they cool and hilarious, but they love the Lord. Don’t miss that…. they are in high school, & they LOVE the Lord. I’m sorry…what? That almost seems like it shouldn’t go in the same sentence. They don’t just claim christianity, but they walk daily with the Lord. They don’t live in a bubble, but are fully aware of what they world is telling them to do,  but instead they walk with the Lord. They are living Galatians 1:10 out in their daily lives. “For am I now seeking the approval of man, or of God? Or am I trying to please man? If I were still trying to please man, I would not be a servant of Christ”. These ladies are truly servants of Christ that push me to the cross.

Sweet friends- a note to each of you (with pics, duh.)

Rachel- Thank you for jumping into serving these middle school girls with both feet and not looking back. You never cease to amaze me in your willingness to do whatever for the sake of the gospel, including running with a donut on your face. You love these girls so well. Your passion for Christ, scripture, and encouraging others is a testament of your personal walk with Jesus. Thank you for serving this year. I am so excited to see where the Lord takes you next in your journey with Him at CSU. “And by this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments. Whoever says “I know Him” but does not keep His commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in Him, but whoever keeps His word, in him truly the love of God is perfected. By this we may know that we are in Him: whoever says he abides in Him ought to walk in the same way in which He walked”. 1 John 2:3-6   Rachel- thank you for walking in the way that Christ walked.

Jessica- The fact that I had a hard time finding a picture of you without students in it is such a testament of what this year has looked like for you serving these girls. You have loved them more than I could ever have dreamed of or asked. I am so thankful for you and your willingness to do whatever is needed. Thank you for always being there with a hand ready to help. I can’t think of a time when I needed something done and you weren’t standing there asking “can I do anything?”.  Your passion for sharing life with others encourages me. The girls adore you and so do I . I cannot wait to see what the Lord does in and through you at USC. “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gently and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30 Praying this over you right now. You have been through so much especially this semester and I am challenged and encouraged by your faithfulness to Christ and His promises. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Abbie Grace- What a year it has been. This picture describes perfectly how God made you. You have such an ability to make any girl feel welcomed. The Lord has worked in you so much this year, and I can’t wait to see how much more He does in your heart and through your life. Thank you for serving this year and being that friendly spirit that every group needs. I am so excited for you as you head off to Taylor University. “In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace, which He lavished upon us, in all wisdom and insight making known to us the mystery of His will, according to His purpose, which He set forth in Christ as a plan for the fullness of time, to unite all things in Him, things in Heaven and things on earth.” Ephesians 1:7-10 Praying that you trust in His will for your life as you start this new chapter. You are already who He wants you to be, in Christ Jesus. Love you sweet girl 🙂

Katie- Oh my goodness. I knew that first time (among many) that you corrected my grammar, we would be great friends. I cannot tell you how thankful I am the Lord planned to use you this year in the middle school ministry. I know He has great plans for your life and praying that you trust Him to guide you. As you head off to Clemson, I know that awesome things await, but above all I pray that your relationship with Christ continues to grow and deepen even more than where you are now.  Praying that you continue to love on girls and pour your life into them. God made you with such a clear gift in being the fun, life of the party girl but also the ability to go deep and take others deeper in their walk with Jesus. You have such a gift working in student ministry. Thank you for serving this year and for laughing at every single one of my jokes (even the ones that didn’t deserve a laugh :). You make my heart smile. “Oh sing to the Lord a new song, for He has done marvelous things! His right hand and His holy arm have worked salvation for Him. The Lord has made known His salvation; He has revealed His righteousness in the sight of the nations. He has remembered His steadfast love and faithfulness to the house of Israel. All the ends of the earth have seen the salvation of our God. Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth; break forth into joyous song and sing praises!” Psalm 98:1-4  (naturally I picture you singing the song!)

Leanne- I am so thankful I got to have two years with you! You are one of the most genuine people I have ever met. The growth I have seen in your personal walk over the past 2 years has been so encouraging to me. The ministry you have been committed to with the PCA girls makes my heart jump with joy. There is never a day when you haven’t made a room brighter by walking in it. Christ completely shines through you. I am so excited as you head off to Clemson and cannot wait to hear of all the things you learn and do the next few years. Thank you for being so faithful to the ministry in which Christ called you to. You are a peach. Oh and you give the best hugs EVER. haha  “We must work the works of Him who sent me while it is day; night is coming, when no one can work. As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” John 9:4-5 Praying that you continue to know the urgency of the gospel. You have taught that to me sweet friend. love you!

Rachel- bahah this picture sums you up perfectly. I am so thankful the Lord wrote it before time that our paths would cross. Poland did wonders for our friendship haha. I am daily encouraged and challenge by your honesty, love, and all out wittiness. To see the growth that has happened in your life in the last 2 years amazes me and only makes me more excited for the next four! You’re stellar cause you love Jesus. Looking back on all the memories the past year or so makes my heart so glad. “Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.” 1 Corinthians 15:58 I don’t know what I am going to do next year without the daily dose of Rachel in my life. Perhaps skype? Yes, we must. love you sweet friend!

Now for some classic pictures. Thank you immensely for serving.  love you girls!

Leave a Reply

