Take Me Back to Timeless

I’m afraid to say that daily I am reminded that I was born in the wrong decade. My appreciation and love for old hollywood, classic movies, impeccable style, and unaltered music runs deep. Selfishly I would love to have been raised in the 40s and hit the 50s in my prime.  Thankfully I was raised by a family that loved the classics. Growing up I remember watching Shirley Temple and Doris Day movies on Sundays with my mom and hearing my Granny & Grandaddy singing Bing. My love for this time period started early and boy am I glad. The dancing, clothes, & movies is enough to make me stop and swoon.  So instead of basking in the modern techno driven, wanna be hipsterness of today, I choose to bask in the days of old. The good ole days.

via veronicalikesthings.tumblr.com

I would love to start my day feeling like Rita Haysworth & Fred Astaire. Maybe I should warn the roommates if I start singing & dancing (aka they hear shrieks and loud thuds) in the morning it is because it’s a Rita Fred day.

via google

       And people think that swag is a new concept. I dare to differ. I would say this young man invented it. King Carey Grant Swag if you will.

via google

Rock Hudson and this little lady below in one of my all time favorites “Pillow Talk”.  

via doctormacro.com

  Doris Day. Classic girl next door. Just waiting for someone to bring this outfit back now.

via google.co.uk

Dean Martin & Jerry Lewis

via google

Grace Kelly, Grace Kelly.

via yellowtea.tumblr.com

Lucille Ball. Her name already eludes to someone who fun. What a hoot.

via google.com

 Everybody loves a good Shirley Temple. I need to find out how you can get a drink named after you. No shame in ordering a Shirley.

via toutlecine.com

In one of my all time favorite movies, Fred Astaire & Marjorie Reynolds. I’d wear that dress in a heartbeat. Gimme.

via google

Bing Crosby. Definitely in my top 5 of Hollywood’s classic leading men. What a triple threat of talent.

Now I am ready to go back home, pop in a classic, and reminisce this timeless decade. The Pandora station will have to do for now.

 

Leave a Reply

