12 in 2012

So I am not into making resolutions solely because I know I will break them and feel failure. I tend to stray away from things I know I will fail at. Instead of “resolutions”, I’ve just decided on a few key events that WILL happen in 2012 (Lord willing). So in honor of 2012, here are 12 things that I cannot wait to do this year.

1. Get into spin class

I love how the word “into” almost implies acceptance is needed.  Now, I have only been to 1 so far so I do not know if I am technically “into” it yet, but I am not refusing to go back either. The year is young and my legs are still attached.

from Mountain Top Fitness

 #2 go to Nicaragua

Praying that this is the country the Lord calls me to go to in 2012 . My heart wants to work with these precious children and hopefully with this amazing ministry, One by One

taken from theinnocent.org

 #3 Needtobreathe

So pumped this is already on the books. March 3rd this WILL happen and I cannot wait. I missed seeing them in 2011, so 2012 will be a sweet reunion.

from Needtobreathe

 #4 Bama football game

For the past 10 years I have had a best friend who is the biggest Bama fan I have ever met. Every year I say I am gonna make it to a game with her, well Kendall- 2012 is the year! One time she even showed a guy up in a game with her Bama knowledge (insane but so fun to watch).

 #5 The Color Run

This was added this morning by my bes fran Alex. I am so pumped for this. I will run a 5k to be able to run through paint powder. DUH.

from The Color Run

 #6 Sew my tshirt blaonket (spelled for Alex)

  With two bags full of tshirts from college, this has to happen in 2012. Plus, I will never wear the tshirts again so might as well put them to use. Step 1: learn to sew. Blaonket- apparently I pronounce it this way so might as well spell it this way too!

From Art 2 the extreme blog

 #7 Year of the deer

Now, 2010 & 2011 weren’t the year of the deer, but I am feeling good about 2012. Time to get my first and last deer. All I want is one. Hopefully I can go back out with my dad and 2012 will be the year.

from Buck Hunters Blog

 #8 Learn how to use my SLR camera

So I’ve had my sweet lil Canon T2i for 2 years now. I can’t get past the simple power, zoom, and take the picture button (real technical terms).  Ready to put this guy to its full potential.

from Canon

#9 Buy a bag from Sari Bari  

While in Kolkata, India this past December, we briefly were introduced to the Sari Bari ministry. Saris are what women wear in India and bari means house= House of Saris. This is place where women from the red light district can come, learn to sew, and make a new life for themselves. It is also a way to share the Gospel and offer them the hope of Christ. I love it. I love the ministry and what the Lord is doing through it. And.. I love the bags.

 

from Sari Bari

 

#10 Read Jane Austen’s 7 Novels

This fancy lil book has been sitting underneath my computer screen for the past year. I love the movies but I feel like I am cheating myself by not reading the books. Time to take the book out from being a prop for my screen and start reading it!

from Barnes and Noble

#11 Carriage Ride

Living in Charleston it is rare to do anything touristy. In 2012 though… carriage ride it shall be. I love Charleston. It’s history, architecture, colors, and cobble stone streets… no better way to see it than a carriage ride! Particularly loving this shot of the carriage ride for 2 reasons: 1- in front of my Alma Mater 2- from the vantage point of The Notebook (don’t believe me? rewatch it!)

#12 Take a really cool trip with my 3 besties… destination unknown

So lately I have been über proud of my frand MerriCameron for landing (pun totally intended) a flight attendant position. First, can I just say how awesome she will be at this. Second, can I say how pumped I am for a trip in the making. Who knows where it will be? Maybe one of these 2, maybe not. Possibilities unknown and endless.

I’m loving 2012 already. As always my “plans” never turn out how I expect but His plans for me always turn out better. Can’t wait to see what the Lord does in and through me in 2012. Praying for a year of growth, adventure, and newness.

For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

